Home > Recovery > Types Of Assistance

Types of Assistance

Through Presidential Disaster Declarations, the federal government is able to offer disaster assistance funds to help people, property, businesses, and governments recover after a disaster. However, when working through this process, remember all damages must be from a declared disaster, and they must not be due to deferred maintenance.
FEMA Public Assistance (PA)
Governments, museums, community centers, low-income housing, homeless shelters, and many other facilities are eligible for Public Assistance funds after a disaster. For a complete listing of facilities eligible for Public Assistance funds, please visit www.fema.gov.
FEMA Individual Assistance (IA)
The FEMA Individual Assistance Program provides crisis counseling, disaster unemployment assistance, disaster legal services, housing resources, and other services to eligible persons. For information on how to apply for federal disaster assistance after a disaster, click here [reference the For Residents How to Apply for Federal Disaster Assistance After a Disaster page – see below]. For more information on FEMA Individual Assistance, visit www.disasterassistance.gov.
Small Business Administration (SBA) Loans
The Small Business Administration offers low-interest disaster loans to homeowners, renters, businesses, and most non-profits. These loans can be used to repair or replace the following items damaged or destroyed in a declared disaster:
  • Real estate,
  • Personal property,
  • Machinery and equipment
  • Inventory and business assets. (from the SBA website).
The different types of loans are:
  • Home and Personal Property Loans
  • Business Physical Disaster Loans
  • Economic Injury Disaster Loans
  • Military Reservists Economic Injury Loans.